METAC Steering Committee Members

METAC delivers capacity development under the oversight of a Steering Committee (SC) composed of representatives of METAC countries, external development partners (the European Union, France, the Netherlands, and Switzerland), and the IMF. The committee provides strategic guidance by endorsing the Center’s annual works plans and reviewing the annual reports. The SC meet every year at the beginning of May. The METAC Coordinator serves as Secretary to the SC.

Country Representatives


Mr. Wahidullah Nosher
First Deputy Governor
Da Afghanistan Bank


Mr. Said Maherzi
Deputy Governor
Central Bank of Algeria


Mr. Malik M. Garad 
Responsible of Banking Supervision Department  
Central Bank of Djibouti


Ms. Doaa Hamdy
Head of International Affairs Department
Ministry of Finance


Mrs. Jinan Ismaeil Ibrahim
Acting Director General of Statistics and Research Department
Central Bank of Iraq



Dr. Izzeddin M. Kanakrieh
Secretary General to Minister of Finance
Ministry of Finance


H.E. Minister Ali Hassan Khalil
Minister of Finance
Ministry of Finance


Mr. Mohamed Abusnina
Economic Advisor
Central Bank of Libya


Mr. Jilali Kenzi
Deputy Director of Treasury and External Finance Administration, Ministry of Finance


Mr. Elamin Adam Abuelgasim
Director of Financial Policies and Budget Coordination
Ministry of Finance and Economic Planning


Mr. Mohammad Issa
Director of International Co-operation Department
Ministry of Finance


Mr. Mourad Abdessalam
Directeur Général des Etudes et de la Coopération Internationale
Banque Centrale de la Tunisie

    West Bank & Gaza

Mr. Riyad Abu Shehadeh
Deputy Governor
Palestine Monetary Authority


Mr. Tarek A. Al Sharafi
Director General of External Financial Relations Department
Ministry of Finance

Development Partners


Mr. Rüdiger von Kleist
Head of Unit “International Monetary Fund; International Financial Architecture”
Federal Ministry of Finance







Mr. Bernard G. Meijerman
Coordinator Transition Arab Region
National Contact point EU
Twinning &TAIEX
North Africa and Middle East Department

    State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO, Switzerland

Ms. Rosmarie Schlup
Head Macroeconomic Support
Economic Cooperation and Development State Secretariat for Economic Affairs SECO

    European Commission

Jose Luis Vinuesa-Santamaria
Head of Section
Economy / Local Development / Infrastructure
Delegation of the European Union to Lebanon


Mr. Francois Dericolfis
Head of Economic Mission for the Near East
Embassy of France
Embassy of France in Lebanon